Just For You

28.10.13 just for you 001

 

Noodles for one. Exciting, I know 😛 But lunch was just for me, as no-one else was at home. Oh well, what a shame! They were yummy 😀 I love Asian food.

I have often joked that I am half Asian (metaphorically of course). I can’t even really explain why, but a few of my friends have agreed with me over the years. (Mainly those from SE Asia :P). I do love the food…and will eat rice or noodles every day of the week given the chance! I remember when I was in Brunei last year I was asked whether I knew how to eat rice. I found this a strange question, but it occurred to me later that it was because the Brits are expected to eat bread and potatoes, in the same way we expect the Chinese to eat only rice. Both of these stereotypes are wrong. And I certainly am the exception to the rule. Food aside, I have grown up surrounded by Chinese influences as both my parents have a strong connection to Hong Kong, having lived and worked there in the 80s. Our dining room has Chinese artwork on the walls, we have a huge fan with dragons on on our stairs, and I learnt to use chopsticks at quite an early age. I thought nothing of it. There’s also elements of the culture I understand. The idea of losing face. Totally get that.

Anyway, that was a short rambling about the honorary Asian in me 😛 The one who finished Uni with more pairs of chopsticks than knives and forks, the one with a huge stash of Chinese tea, the one who decided to learn Mandarin at Uni (and has forgotten most of it unfortunately). One of the few British students to shop in the Chinese supermarket in Bangor on a fairly regular basis. Nah well 😛

‘Southeast Asia has a real grip on me. From the very first time I went there, it was a fulfillment of my childhood fantasies of the way travel should be.’ ~ Anthony Bourdain

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

