Hair

29.10.13 hair 001‘I’m as free as my hair’ as said by Lady Gaga. Ok, she has some strange messages, and even stranger hair, but it seemed to work. I have a board on Pinterest called ‘Mood Hair‘ which is where I collect all my ‘oohs’ and ‘ahhs’ of coloured hair, wacky styles and quirky plaits. I used to have really long hair, but could never do anything with it. It was too thick, too unruly. For years the hairdresser has fought against it, making it part here, making it lie there, and the first time I wash it it all just does what it wants. Never the same twice. Gradually I had it cut shorter. Long enough to still get into a bun for ballet, but short enough to wear it loose and it not go everywhere. It did anyway, but that’s not the point. Then after I finished my ballet grades it got shorter again. I had it like that for a while, until about 6 months ago when I decided I wanted to be able to DO things with it again. Simple things like put it in a ponytail or scruffy bun. Wear a hair-band without looking like a lion. I don’t know how long I eventually want it, but for now I’m happy. I can start French plaiting it again, I can do stuff with it for dancing…it’s just nice to have longer hair.

But growing and cutting isn’t the only thing. Colour. I always said I would never dye my hair because I didn’t see the point. Well, that didn’t last. I do still agree that bleaching is a no-go, and why dye your hair a normal/natural colour? If you’re going to change the colour of your hair, you may as well make a statement! I always wanted to go blue. No idea why, but I did. I started with a spray in colour that washed out. I liked it but was scared to go more permanent. It took until about 2011 ish for me to actually buy some semi-permanent dyes online and try it. I dyed highlights in my fringe of blue and raspberry. It washed out quickly. I tried again, all over, leaving the dye in longer. I had raspberry/fuchsia hair for weeks, the blue disappeared. So from now on, purple/pink/red was my colour palette. I like having coloured hair. I like how it actually improves the condition of my hair…makes it more silky and soft and shiny. It’s a talking point I can hide behind. People approach me to comment on it, and presto, a conversation is started! It helps shy little me to interact with people. I was worried it wouldn’t look right on my longer hair, but I think it looks OK đŸ™‚ Next, I want to go sea green…

‘I’m undaunted in my quest to amuse myself by constantly changing my hair.’ ~ Hillary Clinton

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

