Reflections on Life

I hope everyone had a lovely Christmas! I certainly did…full of yummy food, wonderful presents and lovely surprises πŸ™‚ I think I’ve been ridiculously lucky this year!

One of my presents was a picture keeper. Plug it in, it finds all your photos and automatically backs them up! Brilliant! A lot of my pictures are on my external, but I thought I’d back up the ones only on my laptop. So, I plug it in…’finding photos’…..total found photos? 13891!! How is that possible?! But I let it start backing up anyway, knowing the likelihood is that it won’t be able to store all those. I’m still wondering at this point how I have that many photos on my laptop when all my Uni and things before Uni photos are only my external hard-drive…i.e. deleted from my laptop. Or so I thought! Apparently they are still on here somewhere, because as it started backing up, photos I didn’t think were on here started being backed up! I hate the fact I deleted them to clear space on my laptop, but all I achieved is making them inaccessible and not actually feeing up any space at all! Gah. And now I will be filling up my picture storer with photos that are already backed up. Wonderful. Got to love technology sometimes!

On another note…’Now Disney’ is brilliant fun to listen to on the day after Boxing Day πŸ˜› That lull between Christmas and New Year needs filling with something, and what better way than singing along to Disney classics! We had a power cut this morning, so I decided to put my presents away…except my room is so dark without the light on that I actually struggled! Maybe my New Year’s Resolution should be to clear my window…:P However, the power is back on now, so I can listen to music, go on my laptop (the battery life is shot to pieces :/) and see in my room.

I mentioned New Year’s Resolutions…I think I’ll write another post nearer to New Year about that…but this year I fully intend on making serious resolutions, and am equally serious about making the effort to keep them! 2013 hasn’t been an overly great year for me for various reasons…not that bad things happened as such, but just I’ve not felt happy with the year in general. So I’ve decided that 2014 will be a lot lot better! It’s going to be a good year for me, but that means making some changes and decisions…things I struggle with, but are well overdue. I’ve been jotting things down in the back of my diary for a month or so now…somewhere I’ll see them whenever I want. But yes, another day.

For now, a quick recap on 2013…the good, the bad and the in between!

30.01.13 Strictly Live Tour Liverpool 006

January saw us go to see Strictly Live in Liverpool. This was for Mum’s birthday, but was as much as treat for me as for her! I just knew about it beforehand πŸ˜›

We also had our first sprinkling of snow of 2013, starting the year with cold and inconvenience, and not enough snow for fun πŸ˜›

13.02.13 sushi 007February was a bit of a random month. I seemed to do a lot of food related things according to my photos! I made sushi for the first (and possibly the last) time. I still have more rice, but it was such a faff…no wonder sushi is expensive to buy! Was tasty though, and I really fancied sushi the other day, so maybe one day.

I also baked a marble cake for Valentine’s Day. Not because I like Valentine’s, more an excuse to bake cake. In fact, it was really just another day in the year for me. As always. Apart from that, I wore silly socks to raise money for Beat…and took pictures of the pets πŸ˜›

23.03.13 snow 083March saw the snow return. With a vengeance! We were sledging down Atodiad’s steps, they had an avalanche off the roof, and Dad was snowed in for a few days. It was good fun actually…made a change to actually play in the snow for once. It’s been a while!

Kate also came for a visit this month…hopefully won’t be too long before she makes in over to Wales again πŸ™‚ We also celebratedΒ Dad’s 50th birthday with family…I baked a blue cake (as you do), we had a party and hopefully he had a lovely time.

29.04.13 powis time 077April, the weather cleared up a bit. I spent a lot of time at Powis Castle…following peacocks round the courtyard, taking photos in the gardens, and being Paparazzi to Mrs Mason the housekeeper πŸ˜› I took some of my favourite ever photos this month, including this one. Peacocks are so photogenic!

06.05.13 roadtrip 007May seems to have been quite busy…road-trip involving antiques and ice cream, Birmingham for belly dancing (and lots of interesting bits of sculpture), Dad emptied his old van and refitted his new van…luckily the weather was half decent! Dad and I also went on a trip to Hawkstone Follies Park…that was a lovely day full of walking, photos and giggles πŸ™‚ We also had lots of double yolked eggs from the milkman! Not just one, but 6! What are the chances?! The weather was amazing actually…I was actually sunbathing outside and enjoying sitting reading in the sun. Beautiful. I had a trip to Bangor in May as well…for Aimee’s leaving party, as well as to see the dance show.

24.06.13 Manchester reunion 01June…Manchester reunion with Lorna, Ruth and Lizzie πŸ™‚ It was absolutely great to see them again, it had been far too long, as it has again now. We did a lot of shopping, tea drinking and chatting πŸ™‚ Of course!

I went to Bellan House’s 35 year celebration and saw my primary school teachers again πŸ™‚ The weather continued to be lovely, with lots of eating outside, and enjoying the sunshine.

Mum and Dad went on holiday and left me to house sit. I was supposed to have company for this, but unfortunately, for various reasons, neither of my companions were able to come in the end. Not ideal, or as fun as it should have been, but hey! These things happen! I managed to keep the house together, and the pets alive, so I guess it was a success πŸ˜› I was rewarded by finding a four leaf clover on one of my walks. Something to hold onto when I wasn’t feeling very positive this month.

13.07.13 femme fleur, such a new look 022July the weather continued to be glorious. On probably the hottest day of the year Mum and I decided to do a photoshoot! Some gorgeous photos, but we were both absolutely roasted after about an hour outside!

We had lots of BBQs, I went to Powis every week, and continued with my driving lessons. My birthday was this month too…lovely dinner of moules et frites πŸ˜›

The big event of July though was the wedding we went to! I got to dress up (once I’d re-made my dress), we shared someone’s big day, and Grandma got very tiddly on champagne πŸ˜›

26.08.13 roadtrip 061August was another road-trip…this time to Nant-Y-Moch Reservoir and Borth for ice cream πŸ™‚

I also danced with Mum’s group at Llanymynech Folk Festival…which was good fun actually πŸ™‚ And Dad took some lovely photos for me!

Mum and I went to Birmingham to the Rag Market for costume supplies and bubble tea. Apart from that, there was a lot of Atodiad sorting, Cae Llwyn sorting, and a lack of life sorting!

Also…I took a trip to the North East to see Sean, who I hadn’t seen since Paris last year. It had been too long, as ever. But lovely too. I met Caro for the first time, and made a new friend πŸ™‚ Also caught up with Steph! A lovely few days that almost didn’t happen at all…communication wasn’t easy at the time. But yes, a trip to the beach and a day in Durham…with good friends…it was what I needed I think πŸ™‚

07.09.13 Brum 4 squares 030September involved lots of dancing, which was great. I don’t get to dance enough anymore, so when I get Haflas and gigs to do it makes me happy. A few days in Birmingham at the same time as the Four Squares festival and the opening of the new library was great…acrobatics, food, singing…and the most incredible library I have ever seen!! A Hafla near home, that Hayley came for…and a walk around Oswestry in the rain πŸ˜› I have to say the Gaga outfits for the Hafla were great fun though πŸ˜›

Another trip to Bangor, this time for the Variety Fest we had been asked to dance at. That was pretty good fun actually…I enjoyed it, even I was a bit stressed out beforehand! Hayley and I had a lovely walk round the port and along the river though…sunset over the water is truly beautiful, and the fresh air was very welcome πŸ™‚ It always makes me feel happy.

September was also the Attfield treasure hunt…I think we frustrated a lot of theatre members that day. I do apologise πŸ˜›

31.10.13 wicked pumpkin 004October brought shopping trips to Shrewsbury (spent too much but bought such pretty things!), tea and cake in Welshpool with Kathy and another trip to Birmingham for dancing!

It was also Halloween…Wicked pumpkin, vampire costume and party. It had been a while since I’d been to a Halloween party! πŸ˜› Good fun though πŸ™‚

I also passed my driving test this month! I think this is definitely my biggest achievement this year, without a doubt!

09.11.13 welshampton bonfire 014November we started rehearsals for Last Tango in Whitby at the Attfield. Teaching them to dance…we had fun πŸ˜›

We also went to a bonfire night in Welshampton…I have never seen a shaped bonfire before! But a pirate ship is what we found πŸ™‚ Brilliant night…despite not being part of the community per se, I had a lovely time. Good company, live music, and yummy food…what more could you want? πŸ˜›

23.12.13 xmas stuff 003December…and the year is almost over.

Last Tango went well…full houses every night, and a very happy production. We had a Xmas/Retirement party (for our sound man) the week after. That was a good evening, despite having no lights in the theatre!

I drove myself and Shaun up to Bangor for the dance show. My first major long journey. Nervous…yes. Oh so yes. Problems? A couple, but generally it was alright. I got us both there without too much stress. I got us back again with only one scary moment too! I was ridiculously tired afterwards though. But very proud of myself. I am now invincible πŸ˜› The dance show went well too…we didn’t actually get a rehearsal with music, but as ever Al Bahiyya did me proud πŸ˜€

Christmas has been nice as well…as I said before, very lucky πŸ™‚ When I look at the year like this, I wonder why I feel it’s been such a rubbish year. I’ve done things, I’ve danced, seen friends…and yet on a personal level I feel it’s been a bit unfulfilling really. I’ve floated through the year without purpose. I’ve felt a bit removed from my friends…yes I have the internet, and I’ve spent a lot of time annoying Andrew after driving lessons…but it’s still felt a bit weird. The last couple of months have been better…being involved in the play at the theatre, and making new friends has really made me feel better πŸ™‚ So thank you πŸ™‚

I hope 2014 is a good year for everyone…whether 2013 was good for you or not. And I apologise for the length of this post! I got carried away ever so slightly πŸ˜›

‘Your success and happiness lies in you. Resolve to keep happy, and your joy and you shall form an invincible host against difficulties.’ ~Β Helen Keller

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

