Mixed Resolutions

New Year’s Resolutions. Funny things, really. Traditionally, we make them…but how many of us actually make them seriously? Or complete them? I’m guessing not many at all. But then, how achievable do we make them in the first place? Deciding to be more active is one thing, but deciding to do 8 hours of extra exercise a week may be a little extreme. Eating more healthily is definitely more do-able, but trying to lose/gain a certain amount of weight may just end up with disappointment when targets aren’t reached. Maybe this is just me not liking to be restrained by things…but I’m not so sure. I’m the sort of person that likes deadlines. I like plans. I like to know step by step how to do things. So maybe my problem is that resolutions have always been too vague. Vague…I’m good at that. Not so good at sticking to it though.

So, this year, as the New Year approaches, what are my resolutions? Realistic or too ambitious? Vague or specific? Well, let’s see…

1. To be a better me.ย This sounds really negative…but stick with me. I know I am capable of more than I’ve done this year. Yes, I’ve passed my driving test. Well done me. But apart from that, what have I really done? I’m not saying I want to change the world, or have my name in the history books. That’s unrealistic. But I think I can do something for me. I can stop being scared. Scared to make mistakes, scared to fail. I need to try things, take risks and live a little. I want to try not to overanalyse everything before I do it.ย I can try to stop using my faults as an excuse for things, and instead do something about them. Laziness is NOT an excuse or a reason. It is a weakness I can change. But on the other hand, I need to learn to relax and not get stressed. Things happen. I can’t always control everything…however much I’d like to! If I don’t understand something straight away, what does it matter? Just breathe and try again. It’s not the end of the world. I need to accept what I’m good at, but also realise there are things I struggle with. A better understanding of myself.ย To misquote something, ‘I need to be the change I want to see in me.’ And I think this year I can do that. 2014 will be a good year ๐Ÿ™‚

2. To enjoy every second! –ย OK, this leads on from the previous one, but I wanted to separate it out because I think it’s important. I never live in the moment, but rather worry about what I’ve done and what I’m doing, and what I’m going to do. I enjoy things afterwards, as memories. Then feel sad because it is only a memory and the moment has passed. If I can just stop thinking, even for a little while, I reckon I will find enjoyment in things I previously might not have done. As I wrote in my diary about this – ‘Grasp life in both hands and never let go’

3. To move on with my life. – This is a harder one, and I’m not going to go into detail, but it is just as important. Everyone has things holding them back, and I am no different. But these things need to be accepted as part of the past, and brought forward into the future in a positive light. I think I’m ready to do that now ๐Ÿ™‚

So, my resolutions are vague, yet specific. They are realistic and yet difficult to achieve. They are ambitious, and frankly it terrifies me. But I want next year (and the years after that) to be good. Great even! And for that I need to start making some changes. One tiny step at a time. I don’t expect I shall become a whole new person. Honestly, I don’t want to. I just want to improve on the person I currently am ๐Ÿ™‚

‘How few there are who have courage enough to own their faults, or resolution enough to mend them.’ ~ย Benjamin Franklin

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mixed Resolutions

  1. Sean Kerr says:

    I think these have to be the best new years resolutions I have ever heard ๐Ÿ™‚ And also very motivating ones at that! I have no doubt what so ever that you will reach your ‘target’ of making this year and those many still to come, the best and happiest yet ๐Ÿ™‚ I must say I am really glad to see you so happy again! XxXxXxXxXxX

Leave a Reply

