Goldy Locks…in search of creativity

07.01.13 Gold-y-Locks batch 1 0051I started making jewellery from bits of locks and handles from my Dad’s work about this time last year. I set up an Etsy shop, a Facebook page and got really into making things. I had a lot of people interested in my pieces, and yet in 12 months I only made one sale. I don’t think they are overpriced, and I did reduce the prices over summer. I know they are not to everyone’s tastes…very unique and individual…and yet, I would have thought I could generate a bit more interest. So because of this, plus other projects such as costumes and my tie dress, my efforts have dwindled to almost nothing. The last things I posted on the Facebook page were in September.

03.01.14 Goldylocks 015Until yesterday. I decided to finish off a few items I had started about 4 months ago. Pendants I hadn’t put on cords…earrings without hooks…bracelets without a bracelet…:P They have now been posted onto the Goldy-Locks page…with no interest. But I’m not going to be dissuaded. Someone will like them. I like them if all else fails, so I will wear them. I will continue to make things, have new ideas, and take commissions if requested.

I also want to diversify. I know my Fb page is ‘Goldy-Locks Jewellery’ and implies both locks and jewellery…but I make so many other things that I want to offer those as well. 16.02.11 macrame 001Crocheted cupcakes, mug cosies, macramé bracelets, feather bras, feather corsages, novelty pompoms…and those are just the things I really enjoy making 🙂 I’ve made various of these for friends for presents…but there’s only so many times I can do that 😛

Having some sort of idea whether people would be interested in any of these things, and which, and to what extent would be really useful to me. I am open to negative criticism as well as ‘ooo I like that!’ comments 😛 01.05.12 seans bday mug cosy 003I want to try and raise a little bit of my own money, but also find a useful outlet for my creativity. I love making things, but feel guilty making things randomly ‘just because’…so this is my compromise. And after all, if I can make a success of it, well that’s brilliant 😛 So yes, please please please give me some feedback on this 🙂

15.10.11 kates teapot 001

 

23.07.13 fascinator bits 004

 

 

 

 

 

 

13.04.13 feather bra 002

 

 

 

‘You want to be a bit compulsive in your art or craft or whatever you do.’ ~ Steve Martin

‘The biggest challenge for any craft person or artist is to accept the constraints of their medium and make something beautiful despite them. That’s kind of fun, actually.’ ~ Ayelet Waldman

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

