oops…

I failed again…it’s been over two months. I just haven’t felt inspired to write recently. I’ve been doing plenty other things though! Lots of creative projects completed…day trips…bbqs and picnics…haflas…

22.05.14 penguin pom finished (2)I made a penguin. A huge woolly pom pom penguin 🙂 It’s for the Air Penguin charity appeal…and took a long labour of love to complete! I was sitting backstage at the Attfield winding wool getting some very strange looks from the cast 😛 Unsurprising really. So here’s the finished penguin especially for them!

I finished sewing my jacket that I started planning about 18 months ago! The fabric was the leftovers from when I made Otter’s swimsuit for Wind in the Willows at Uni…and only just stretched far enough! Was stressful and tight squeeze but I got there 🙂 18.04.14 Beautiful day (3)I learnt a lot of new skills, and tweaked it to suit…and am actually really happy with it! It’s part of being a creative person that often you don’t like what you make….so it makes a nice change 🙂

We’ve been redecorating our bathroom…no heating, no storage…at one point, no door…I was showering at my Grandparents’ house! 09.06.14 bathroom piccies (1)But…now we’re nearly back to a usable room…and Mum and Dad asked me to do some artwork for them for the walls! It was really nice to have a purpose for painting! Again, not 100% happy…but happy enough. Next painting project…a lampshade 😀

Day trips wise…Shaun and I have been to Welshpool for a beautiful sunny afternoon, and spent last Saturday at Powis Castle…wandering round the gardens, and having a lovely picnic in the middle of the great lawn. 14.06.14 Edwardian Powis Picnic (98)We’ve had some lovely weather recently…and I feel I’ve really made the most of it, even if it’s just been taking Didy for a walk, or sitting in the garden painting!

Plus, I’ve been to London again! Went to see Titus Andronicus at the Globe. Wow….lots of fake blood. And I mean LOTS. The previous performance to the one we saw, quite a number of audience members fainted! Even during ours, lots of people had to go outside. 30.04.14 Day in London (19)It was a wonderful production, but really, very gory. Had a lovely walk round London, and dinner at Garfunkels, before a long (and slightly stressful) journey back to Oswestry.

Bangor’s Summer Dance Show…another brilliant one! Missed dancing with them though….:( The next day Shaun and I went to Beaumaris…lovely lovely day!! And ice cream of course…can’t go to Beaumaris without having ice cream 😛 P1110851Lots of driving that weekend though…and a bank holiday at that :/ Not a happy Liza! However, May Day was fun 😛 Went to Welshampton to see the Mummers Play, and dancing, and music…lots of fun!! Even the on and off bits of rain didn’t spoil it at all.

Mum and I have taken Atodiad out on a few trips over the last couple of months….just coffee and cake, or lunch…but a change of scenery 🙂 16.05.14 Golden Wedding AnniversaryWhittington Castle, Coed Y Dinas…nice to spend a few hours out and about with my grandparents. They also celebrated their 50th Wedding Anniversary in May! Amazing.

Lastly…Haflas! Lots of dancey dancey 🙂 April brought Black Veil Tribal’s Beltane Bash in Wrexham. Mum and I danced together for the first time in absolutely ages! 10290623_857963847563420_5806679475434284151_nWe danced to The Flood by Katie Melua….my choreography, Mum’s nightmare 😛 But she did wonderfully 🙂 Then last Saturday we went to Shrewsbury for Jude’s Golden Oldies Hafla. Originally it was going to be Al Bahiyya…then no-one could come, so it became Al Jamila dancing the same dance! My first choreography for Al Bahiyya…my personal Golden Oldie. P1120754Taken back to the group I learnt from. Then, about four days in advance, Bex said she could now come! So we had both groups dancing together 🙂 Brilliant 🙂 We have our own Midsummer Hafla on Saturday….I’m doing four dances….which means four costumes. Bring it on 😛

‘In the end of each day, sit and find a reason to smile’ ~ Unknown (via pinterest)

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Dancing, Random Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

