Family…to make me smile

So here are another 5 photos that make me smile. This time all under one theme. One of the most important things to me is my family. I complain about them, yes, but we are very close, and they mean the world to me. Especially my ‘Wales’ family as I see them a lot more often.

1. Christmas 2012

24.12.12 christmas eve 011

I love this picture of my parents on Christmas Eve 2012. We were making the last preparations before Christmas Day – stuffing the turkey, avoiding each other to last minute wrap presents, tidying up…:) We listened to festive music, I dug out the silly hats, and we all had smiles on our faces.

2. London 2012

London trip 283

My parents and I went to London for a few days, predominantly for an exhibition at the V&A Museum. We went down onto the riverside by Tower Bridge, and I told Mum to pose for a photo. This was the result 😛 Her happy hat, and Mary Poppins coat 🙂

3. A May Morning

15.05.14 beautiful morning (5)

In the beautiful weather we had early on this year, we persuaded Grandpa to go out and enjoy it. So, on one lovely May morning, while Grandma was getting up, the three of us (Mum, Grandpa and I) sat out with our coffee on the decking.

4. Golden Anniversary

16.05.14 Golden Wedding Anniversary

Only a day after the previous photo, Grandma and Grandpa celebrated their 50th wedding anniversary. We’d had a few ups and down over the previous few weeks, but the day itself was lovely. They were both so happy, and such an achievement.

5. 90 Years

31.07.14 Grandma's 90th (1)

After a tough few weeks, Grandma had something to be happy about – her 90th birthday. Flowers, banners and cake on the day itself, and then friends and family at the weekend. Love this photo for the sheer joy and excitement on her face. Almost childlike.

Next time: The Truffie Saga 😛

In every conceivable manner, the family is link to our past, bridge to our future.’ ~ Alex Haley

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Photography, Random Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

