A Crochet discovery…

I decided to start a weekly crochet project that started on 17th March 2016. True to form, I’m already 3 weeks behind! But that’s what happens when you are trying to do too many things at once I guess. A very special sewing commission has been taking up much of  my time (hopefully more on that in the next couple of weeks!), as have costumes for the Attfield’s next production, plus a new cat, and just life in general.

Anyway, back to the crochet! I found a link to a project called ‘Mandala Madness Crochet-A-Long’ on the blog ‘Crystals and Crochet’ which gives a new part of the project every Thursday night. What made me go for it, was how pretty it looked! Plus, it would give me the opportunity to learn new crochet stitches, play around with colour, and do something a bit different from all the Amigurumi I’ve been doing.

Week 1 (4)So, the first week I downloaded the pattern, and I flew through the rounds in a few days. I thought, ‘great! I’m going to keep up with this!’ and couldn’t wait for the next week. I’m actually really happy with how it looks. I didn’t use the suggested colour packs, preferring instead to use up some of Grandma’s old yarns. I’ve tried to stick to DK yarns, but I’ve found there is some variation amongst them. However, it seems to be working out alright.

Week 2 (5)Week 2, I downloaded the pattern and started it. Then life got in the way, and week 3 came round and I hadn’t finished the previous one. As I said before, it’s now week 6 and I have just finished week 3’s pattern about half an hour ago!

Having said all that, I’m really enjoying it! Seeing it grow, working out the stitches, and making myself be really careful over where I join my rounds, and how I crochet. I usually have a tendency to go ‘it’ll be fine!’ then have to fiddle it to work later on. Week 3However, so far, I’ve had to do that once. The instructions are really, really clear. I can’t stress that point enough actually. I’ve worked on lots of different patterns and nearly always found they assume you know exactly what they mean without explaining the seemingly obvious and that can lead to bother. These patterns though are so well written, and the photos are really helpful, that there is really no excuse! I will definitely be considering further projects by the same designer, Helen.

What’s also really interesting is seeing other people doing the CAL at the same time and posting on the Facebook page. There are so many different colour schemes, so many different looks to the same thing! I feel like I’m a part of something really big, when really I’m just sitting in my living room listening to the radio, whilst working away at my Mandala.

So, if you’d like to take part, there’s still time to catch up! (If you’ve got loads of free time, or are a really fast worker). Click here for the main Mandala page. Good luck! And keep checking back to see how I get on with the rest of it…I believe it continues until 14th July. So I get to finish it just after my birthday (in theory!).

‘I can make anything with a hook and yarn. What’s your superpower?’ ~ found on Pinterest

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Being Creative, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

