Friendship is a delicate vessel…

‘I feel like I’m losing a friend.
Losing a best friend.
I miss when we talked,
Every day.
I’d tell you everything,
You’d tell me anything.
We always knew how the other felt.

But we’re drifting apart.
We hardly talk at all.
Excuses, or reasons,
I’m not bothered which,
I just mourn the loss of that bond.

You always made me smile
When I was feeling down.
You always listened
When I went off on a rant.
Now you’re never there.
Never there to talk to.
There’s always someone else.

We used to be so close.
We used to know each other
Inside out,
Back to front
Any which way at all.
Not any more.

A rift has formed between us –
An endless sea
Blocks our paths,
Ever drifting further apart.
I’m losing the battle
Against the tide.’

Sometimes in our lives we have friends we never think we’ll have to fight to keep in touch with. It doesn’t matter how far away you live, or the length of time between visits, it is easy to pick up where you leave off. The wonders of E-mail and text and Skype should allow contact to remain stronger than ever. However, there is still effort required. You can’t always rely on the other person to start a conversation, but then, you shouldn’t be expected to either. It is a joint effort. Up until now, this hasn’t been too much of a problem. Friends do come and go…friends that you thought would be close forever, drift away until you suddenly realise you haven’t spoken to them for years. But even then, there are those who you want to make the effort to stay in contact with, you wait patiently for a reply, and then finally about three weeks later you get a reply. You reply immediately, but then the waiting starts again. There’s only so much of this I can take. I’m starting to feel out of things, out of the loop, and don’t know when things changed. But things do change, and I need to try and get my head round this.

‘There is magic in long-distance friendships.  They let you relate to other human beings in a way that goes beyond being physically together and is often more profound.’  ~Diana Cortes

About awishisarainbow

I have recently finished my degree in Linguistics, and now living back in Mid Wales facing the real world. I love to travel and take photographs. However, I spend more time making clothes and jewellery, and just generally filling my wardrobe with all the colours of the rainbow!!
This entry was posted in Poetry and Prose, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Friendship is a delicate vessel…

  1. God Nostrils says:

    I can totally relate to this. There’s so many good friends that I have lost/am losing touch with over the years. But I’m coming to realise that we all have our seasons, and there will always be someone else who will come along and be there for you. Sometimes we connect with people just for a short time, and we should cherish every friendship for as long as it lasts. And sometimes we’re pleasantly surprised as long-term friendships come from the most unlikely of places!
    I’m one of those people who always seems to be making the effort to keep in touch, and then when I forget, the relationship often just fizzles out because the other person doesn’t write. People find other friends, it’s the risk of long-distance friendships, of which I have many. But then I have memories which I will remember forever, photos I can look back at and smile at the friendship we once had. And there’s always one or two friends who will stay, who you know you can phone/visit and pick up where you left off, even though life is carrying on for both of you.
    Sorry, I rambled a little. But you’ve put into words what I have thought about for a couple of years now as my friendships change and we move on.
    *hugs*

  2. yeeeeed says:

    I think we can all relate to this to some extent – but alas, I’m sending lots and lots of hugs 🙂

    The poem reminds me of the song Don’t Speak by No Doubt. It is incredibly well written!

    I guess even with the best intentions, growing apart might just be an inevitable part of growing up. It’s no one’s fault, so there’s nothing to feel guilty about. It’s just the way things are…even if we don’t like it!

Leave a comment